Home | Contact Us | Community | News | Resources | Entertainment | Shop | Parenting BlogsPlease visit our sponsors:
Parenting, Pregnancy & Baby Message Boards
Would you like to support Parenting Club? Click here for donation information  
Google
Share |

Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Bfing question, How long do you nurse on each side
MamaMartie
Posted: May 19 2003, 12:06 PM
Quote Post

Bronze Member

Group: Members
Member No.: 118

I am new to this, and I was wondering how long you nirse on each side. Hannah wants to eat about every 3 hours, which is very good I think (she'll be 3 weeks on Thurs). I was told in the hospital and by the ped to feed her for 10-15 mins a side. But that didn't seem right to me. She generally feeds for 20-30 minutes a side, and seems pretty content with that, and for now I am fine with it. I assume that as she gets older she'll be a more "efficient" eater. I know that my bottle fed babies were slow eaters in the beginning.

The thing is, I know my ped is going to say I am giving her too long to eat and setting myself up for long feedings for as long as Hannah BFs. So I thought I'd "ask the experts" and see what you all thought/did. That way I'd sound more convincing when I told her, the ped, I know what I'm doing. biggrin.gif

Thaks in advance!

--------------------
Martie
Lucky Mommy to:

Jared 2/18/97

Meggie 2/18/99
Joey 7/12/00
Hannah 5/1/03
Gabriella Claire due 3/20/05

PMEmail Poster
MommyToAshley
Posted: May 19 2003, 12:33 PM
Quote Post

Happy Spring!

Group: Administrators
Member No.: 2

I am no expert, this was my first time BF. But, Ashley took a long time to nurse in the beginning too. As she got older, she was really efficient at it and only takes about 5-10 minutes. Ashley aslo only nurses on one side per feeding...except right before bed. It sounds like you are doing great...congrats on the first three weeks!

HTH.

--------------------
Dee Dee , Mommy to:
Ashley Marie 9/05/02